top of page

Resources & Links


The American Carpatho-Russian Orthodox Diocese was established in 1938 by His All-Holiness, the late Benjamin I, Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople, under the Patriarchal Seal in the official Patriarchal Document listed under Protocol No. 1379 and dated September 19, 1938, and was canonized in the name of the Holy Orthodox Church of Christ. The Diocese was incorporated in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1950.


The American Carpatho-Russian Orthodox Diocese of the U.S.A. is composed of fourteen regional deaneries (districts):  Canada, Chicago, Florida,  Johnstown (PA), Mid-Atlantic, New England, New Jersey, New York, Pittsburgh, Pocono, Southern Tier, Tri-State, Washington, D.C., and Youngstown. It is overseen by the ruling Bishop with the assistance of  the Diocesan Consistory (senior priests specially selected for their pastoral experience), regional Deans and the Diocesan Board of Trustees.


There are 81 parishes in the United States and Canada, 91 priests and approximately 8,500 faithful in the American Carpatho-Russian Orthodox Diocese of the U.S.A.  The diocese is under the canonical protection of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople.

Originally founded  by immigrants from the Carpatho-Rusyn regions of  present-day Slovakia, Poland and Western Ukraine,  the diocese today is comprised of peoples of all ethnic backgrounds, many of whom are converts to the faith.


Click here for a live link to Divine Liturgy


Christ The Saviour Orthodox Cathedral in Johnstown, PA

(All times Eastern)




Click on the following links for more information:

Diocese Websites:


Parishes of the Chicago Deanery of ACROD:

bottom of page